About the Consortium

COMAR is a group of National Metrology Institutes (NMIs), Designated Institutes (DIs) and national laboratories worldwide that together issue the COMAR database. The effort dates back to the 1970s, when the Laboratoire National de Métrologie et d'Essais (LNE) in France proposed a Code d'Indexation des Matériaux de Référence or COMAR. In the early 1980s, they joined forces with the National Physical Laboratory (NPL) in the United Kingdom and the Bundesanstalt für Materialforschung und -prüfung (BAM) in Germany to issue a database that listed the CRMs available in their countries, an effort that was financially supported by the European Commission. United in the so-called COMAR Consortium, they laid down the rules of their cooperation in a joint Protocol (which has mainly historic value today). The project grew over the years in terms of RMs listed and economies who joined the Consortium.

The previously offline database went online in 2001 and was completely recoded in 2022 – the version on this website. Yes we know, the newly recoded COMAR still contains several bugs and has performance issues -- it's still beta. But we do our best, and hope to tackle our long wish list in the near future. Wish to support us with IT? Welcome. Please let us know.

Who are we ?

  1. Australia     
      Stephen R. Davies      stephen.davies-at-measurement.gov.au
  2. Belarus     
      Maxim Shabanov      metrol-at-belgim.by
  3. Brazil     
      Janaína Marques Rodrigues Caixeiro      jmrodrigues-at-inmetro.gov.br
  4. Bulgaria     
      Ljudmila Dimitrova      l.dimitrova-at-bim.government.bg
  5. China     
      Lin Lu      lulin-at-nim.ac.cn
  6. Czech Republic     
      Jan Beranek      jberanek-at-cmi.cz
  7. France     
      Ljudmila Dimitrova      patrick.bironneau-at-lne.fr
  8. Germany     
      Johannes van de Kreeke      johannes.kreeke-at-bam.de
  9. India     
      S. Swarupa Tripathy      tripathyss-at-nplindia.org
  10. Japan     
      Shigetomo Matsuyama      s.matsuyama-at-aist.go.jp
  11. European Commission     
      Thomas Linsinger      thomas.linsinger-at-ec.europa.eu
  12. Korea     
      Junyoul Ma      akxod-at-kriss.re.kr
  13. Mexico     
      Judith Sainz Uribe      gsainz-at-cenam.mx
  14. Mongolia     
    ask Secretariat
      ask Secretariat      ask Secretariat
  15. Netherlands     
      Peter van Otterloo      rvotterloo-at-vsl.nl
  16. Poland     
      Ewa Malejczyk      ewa.malejczyk-at-gum.gov.pl
  17. Russian Federation     
      Sergej Medvedevskikh      gsso-at-gsso.ru
  18. Mexico     
      Mirka Valkova      valkova-at-smu.gov.sk
  19. Sweden     
      Bertil Magnusson      bertil.magnusson-at-trollboken.se
  20. United Kingdom     
      Gill Holcombe      gill.holcombe-at-lgc.co.uk


Disclaimer & Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact us at comar-at-bam.de